The Ashes Betting 2019

The Ashes Series Betting Markets

The most popular Ashes series 2019 betting markets at this stage will be the outcome of the series itself and betting on the result of the individual five Test matches.

Other Ashes odds to look for include, Top Batsmen and Top Bowler. David Warner and Steve Smith could both be worth considering in the Top Batsmen market, while Mitchell Starc, who took 27 wickets at the Cricket World Cup, is definitely a leading contender to take the most wickets as Top Bowler in the series and could be one of the Ashes best bets.

There will also be Ashes bets available on markets such as Highest Opening Partnership and the outcome of any given ball throughout the series (e.g. dot ball, single, four, bye, wicket, leg-bye, etc).

The Ashes Series Free Bets

A Welcome Bonus when opening a new account with a bookmaker is one popular way to get an Ashes free bet, while there are also sure to be plenty of enhanced cricket odds for the winning team ahead of every Test match in the series. There will also be money-back promotions available on some losing bets.

Here at, we will of course keep you up to date with all the very latest and best Ashes free bets throughout the series.

Best Cricket Betting Sites in Australia

Live Betting on the Ashes Series

There will be a vast array of live Ashes betting available throughout the series which, for those not able to go to the matches in England (i.e. the vast majority of us), will be broadcast on Channel Nine. ABC Radio will also be covering all five Tests. Subscriptions to Foxtel and Kayo are also available to ensure that you never miss a Test in the series.

Any live cricket streaming of the Ashes by bookmakers will be confirmed on their sites about a week prior to the first Test match, but live Ashes score updates and in-play betting over a wide range of markets will of course be available from the top bookmakers throughout the series.

The Ashes Series 2019 Schedule

The Ashes 2019 series will be taking place in England this time. It is hosted in turn by England and Australia at least once every two years, with the venues for the five Test matches being:

  • Edgbaston (1–5 August 2019)
  • Lord’s (14–18 August 2019)
  • Headingley (22–26 August 2019)
  • Old Trafford (4–8 September 2019)
  • The Oval (12–16 September 2019)


Which team has won most Ashes series?

It’s virtually neck and neck, with Australia having a narrow 33-32 lead over England going into this series. There have been five drawn series. The fact that the series is historically so close is one of the reasons why the Ashes is so fiercely competitive.

How many Ashes have Australia won?

Australia have won 33 of the 70 Ashes series played.

Why is The Ashes called The Ashes?

After Australia’s first Test win on English soil in 1882 at The Oval, the term “The Ashes” was first used in a satirical obituary published in a British newspaper, The Sporting Times. The obituary said that English cricket had died, and “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”.

England captain Ivo Bligh had vowed to “regain those ashes” prior to the 1882-83 series in Australia, with the English media subsequently dubbing the tour as, “the quest to regain the Ashes”.

England won the first two of the three Test series on the tour, leading to Bligh being presented with a small urn by a group of women from Melbourne (one of which he would later marry). The urn’s contents are said to be the ashes of a wooden bail and were described as, “the ashes of Australian cricket”.

Has Australia won The Ashes in England?

In Ashes cricket history, Australia have won 14 of the 35 Ashes series played in England, although they haven’t returned home with the Ashes urn since 2001 when they won the series 4-1. Winning any Test match series overseas has looked increasingly difficult in recent years, with pitches invariably being prepared to suit the home team.

For their part, England have won an Ashes series in Australia on 14 occasions from 35 attempts. Their last win on Australian soil was in the 2010-11 series (3-1).

When was the first Ashes series held?

Although the first Test series contested between England and Australia took place in the 1876–77 season, the Ashes originated from the solitary Test which the two nations contested in 1882.